Scotts Hotel has been a fundamental part of this lively and bustling tourist town since 1930. The hotel was originally a 40 bed roomed hotel owned by Mr. John Scott & his wife Nora. The hotel was later taken over by John's son Eamonn and his wife Eileen.
The O'Donoghue Family from The Gleneagle Hotel Group acquired the hotel in 1979 and in 1984 it under went extensive renovation and was expanded to include a new Beer Garden, Off-Licence and Travel Agency. Scotts Hotel became known throughout Ireland for its famous beer garden with it live Jazz session on Sunday morning. In 1998 the hotel was once again extended with the addition of 34 new bedrooms.
Today, Scotts Hotel has an original poster over the fireplace in the Snug bar declaring the opening of the Fitzgerald Stadium on June Bank Holiday, May 31st in 1936. The prices of admission on that historic occasion are worthy of notes with 3/- or 15c in modern parlance being charged for sideline seats; a mere 2/- or 5c for other parts.
In 2006 a complete redesign of the hotel was undertaken by The O'Donoghue Family. Originally 52 bedrooms, the newly constructed Scotts Hotel now boasts 120 guest bedrooms, suites and self catering apartments. The hotel also features a new 90 seater restaurant, which is open to both guest and non residents & three spacious bars. Along with the complete redevelopment of Scotts Hotel, a new pedestrian street was developed with a large underground public car park and 12 spacious shop units.
Scotts Hotel now offers visitors a completely new, contemporary setting in which to enjoy a relaxing break in Killarney, the O'Donoghue family still prides itself on offering guests the friendliest of welcomes and the most professional services at their family run hotel.
Scotts Hotel is a member of the Destination Killarney Group.
Corporate Social & Environmental Responsibility: View here